Brief history of the Teplá Monastery
Premonstratensian Monastery in Teplá
The premises of the monastery, which was established in 1193 by the blessed Hroznata, are one of the most significant in the Czech Republic.
The monastery served the Premonstratensians for centuries, until the end of World War II. In 1950 it was closed down along with other monasteries in Czechoslovakia and it was used as the Czechoslovak People’s Army garrison for 28 years. Only the church and library have been accessible to the tourists since 1958. After the army left them, the buildings kept falling into disrepair. The monastery, damaged heavily by years of neglect, was given back to the Premonstratensian Order only after 1990, and a gradual reconstruction of the whole premises has been going on since. Concerts and exhibitions take place in the Monastery besides regular worship services.
The monastery premises include a Baroque Convent, a Gothic presbytery of the abbey church with a Romanesque chapel, a unique abbey library, its 100,000 volumes making it the second largest historical library in Bohemia, a park, a cemetery and a museum. The most significant building here is the Church of the Annunciation of the Lord erected in 1193 - 1232. The buildings of brewery, hayloft and granary belong to the monastery as well.
The monastery can be visited throughout most of the year.
A hotel and a restaurant are also part of the monastic premises in Teplá.
|1.1. - 31.1.||Closed|
|1.2. - 30.4.||Mon – Sat||09:00am-03:30pm|
|1.5. - 30.9.||Mon – Sat||09:00am-03:30pm|
|1.10. - 31.12.||Mon – Sat||09:00am-03:30pm|
|Children up to 10 years||free|
|Children from 10 to 18 years||70 CZK|
|Students and disabled, subject to card presentation||70 CZK|
Name: Klášter premonstrátů Teplá
Phone: +420 353 392 732
Photo in print quality
To be downloaded at kvpoint.cz
Find us on facebook:
Other useful websites: